top of page

Anderson Williams [New Genesis]

le_souriceau: Hello! Thank you for accepting our invitation.


Maeve: Welcome, Anderson!


Anderson Williams: Hello, thanks for having me.

le_souriceau: So, first question. You usually very clear in statement of “warrior ethos”. I believe this passion for destroying things not started in DU… What is your combat record in other PvP games? Some especially proud memories or achievements? What historically made you so…


Maeve: Dangerous!


Anderson Williams: I think that I played alot of First Person Shooters, but for me the MMO PvP really became my life with my years in EVE. I played for tons of corps and Alliances and really gained a passion for fighting. Its been wtih me ever since.


As far as combat record, I think I have around 4000 kills in Eve for my character and about 500 deaths. As far as First Person Shooters, I played Squad competitively, I play alot of Escape from Tarkov, and I played Gears of War competitively as well.


Maeve: Not played EVE myself, but sounds like very good K/D ratio.


le_souriceau: Yes, quite a record. And I remember you being not exactly happy with AR magazine sizes in New Jersey. You into guns stuff in earthly existence too?


Anderson Williams: I do believe in responsible gun ownership, but the gun laws in states like NJ make my head hurt :p


Maeve: I heard this still more fun than in Canada :)


le_souriceau: At some point, you joined New Genesis, which, little surprise – active, primary PvP focused organization with some interesting quasi-religious lore (I hope this not sound too blasphemous?). Why NG? What you liked in them? And what is your current role in organization?


Anderson Williams: I actually applied to the Terran Union, and they rejected me. Apparently, my application wasn't good enough? I was asking some basic questions and was getting help from a guy from NG and it sort of clicked and I joined. It basically ended up being the best fit for me so I am happy the way it turned out.


le_souriceau: This is quite interesting twist of fate. As avid WH 40k fan myself, I immediately noticed direct influence of this setting on NG “feel” – faith, brothers, purging, heretics... So, this is some kind of global RPG “undertone” accepted and shared by all members, or just more isolated thing, soft spot of leadership?


Anderson Williams: So basically TMA had a guy who wanted to be in charge of the military during NG's formation, Admiral Archangel. He was an awesome dude. He formed the basis for what the Astra Militarum is right now. He gave us alot of the early aspects that sent us down the path to where we are now. So yeah, we took alot of inspiration and it really fits us I think.


le_souriceau: Speaking of leaders and inner workings of NG – how everything actually organized and lead currently? I seen NG earlier ideas on the subject (document about structure), it was quite complicated, with to dozens of tiles and arcane levels of in-game statecraft bureaucracy… something of this stickled to proverbial wall? Or you just play together without too much formalities?


Anderson Williams: It varies, somethings are more rigorish than others, alot of times the over complexity allows us to build something complicated that we can refine later. What you see is likely the first run or go of some part then we go back and remove the unnecessary stuff and try to streamline it. You can never make something too efficient.


le_sourceau: Sure. And to wider space If I understood this correctly, NG is part of larger entity of Arch Confederacy for quite some time. Something interesting and practical happening on this front? Military cooperation part of the deal? You already fought side by side?


Anderson Williams: The Arch Confederacy should be making an announcement soon about a revision of its form to the Ascendency. Basically its a coalition or alliance of Organizations that seek mutual gain and defense. For the most part, we see strong mutual military cooperation. We saw all aspects almost of the Ascendency fighting in the last iteration before this recent wipe. I was impressed and humbled to see them put forth such an awesome fighting force. The Ascendency needs a far better Fleet Commander... but it will definitely be a force to be feared and respected.


le_souriceau: Look like next big news for in game world.


Maeve: Sure, very interesting. I’m can’t resist to ask: do you want to be such fleet commander yourself? ; )


Anderson Williams: Lol, I am the fleet Commander, or at least in the two Combat Actions that the Ascendency took part in I was FLEETCOM. We do not have a specific role as of yet, and I would rather members of the Ascendency take the helm of the Fleet. I do not give myself the credit or ability to be the sole Commander.


Maeve: Oh, sorry, but we now know, that you not void of self-criticism. This is very nice!


le_souriceau: If and there is more into this cooperation, like you planning to build some sort of super-city in PvP zone too?


Anderson Williams: Im not sure what the plans are as of yet. Smarter Individuals with better understanding and foresight will do that sort of planning. Im just here to enforce the Will of the All Father through Gratuitous Violence.


Maeve: Enforcing… how actively, by the way? Member engagement is lifeline for any org, but for PvP orgs double so. Roughly, during A3 what was NG top online during fun times?


Anderson Williams: 20-30 guys usually for fights.


Maeve: Not bad.


le_souriceau: Both NG as group and you personally now have relatively serious PvP experience, “cored” decent amount of stuff. Can you name opponents, who so far, earned your respect on the field of battle?


Anderson Williams: I don’t know if I will go that far, I know we have fought may times with BOO and Penrose the most but we skirmished against Ministry, Hyperion, and STC. My opponents were good fights all around, if I have earned their respect, I would rather hear it from them than speak for them.


le_souriceau: And NG “combat mode” works actually in terms of communication and discipline? This is strict “permission to speak in in effect” or more relaxing big-boy fun with F-words flying around?


Anderson Williams: Its a little of both, like there is a time and place. I like strict comms.. but again everything in good moderation.


le_souriceau: Tell us about planned NG rules of engagement with all world PvP, at least in lines of general idea? You will be attacking only enemy organizations or some random people must be careful too, if their ship catch your eye as fun-to-destroy one?


Anderson Williams: The All Father is very specific... if they are Heretical They should be Purged. There will always be exceptions, but I am always going to be looking for good fights.


Maeve: Hmm, about this “looking”, how you personally see border between just ruining someone day and do good PvP in PvP game? How exactly “sandcastles” you want to destroy look like?


Anderson Williams: I want to fight someone worth fighting, if its alittle dude just trying to live thats one thing. But fat traders, or transports will be food. Hunting ships will be fun but any and all risk to people flying is similar risk that I will run with being hunted. Its a circle of life.


Maeve: Quite philosophical! Question little bit on imagination side. What it is your dream great battle scenario to experience in DU?


Anderson Williams: I would like a good fight where its close for everyone involved, a blow out fight isn't fun. I also like fightin out-manned and out gunned. If I am the majority its less fun to me. So a challenging fight that pits me against a formidable situation is the most ideal fight for me.


Maeve: I see, I love when its hard myself!


le_souriceau: And finalizing on combat. What is your hardware sustain plan father into game with persistence? PvP is fun, but demands quite a lot non-combat work-hours too. Your people expected to contribute in mining to earn place on combat ship? How this burden will is shared?


Maeve: I think this is critical thing for newcomers. You know, horror stories about mining slaves…


Anderson Williams: New Genesis is sort of a Building collective.. you aren't obligated to donate or contribute but for the most part members want to contribute to the org. So we developed ways to reward devotion and dedication. We want it to be fair and that effort = recognition. Our combat prowess is carried by the hard work of the members. We are nothing without them.


Maeve: Sounds fair! So it means industrial/building occupations is viable in NG too, if person not enjoy direct combat so much?


Anderson Williams: In NG everyone is a warrior, first and for most. No matter what.. we all fight. However even spartans had other jobs to do.


Maeve: And looks like our question ammo box is empty.


le_souriceau: Then its time. Thank for great answers, Anderson! We wish you “to core”, but not “be cored”!


Maeve: Thanks a lot! Good luck! Hmm… I now want “to core” things too, sounds fun.


Anderson Williams: Good luck friends and thank you. I encourage you to really seek out the fights they are the best parts of the world to me.

147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Icari [BOO]

"... for a fight that is less than 5 min my PC generated ~100000 log events..."

bottom of page